Uncategorized

Apple Service Center in Singapore

Really disappointed with apple service center . I’ve read so many happy news in forums in US , every apple care center is really caring , they are professional, they are polite, and the apple care center is professionally decorated and renovated , I’m impressed with their telephony customer services but…

Apple Singapore do not have applecare service center for iphone 4 , because i have an broken iphone 4 which got from M1 store, due to my home button is having some problem , unfortunately I also have a crack at the bottom of the right hand side corner .

So I went to m1 shop to get my home button repair, i can bear with the crack if they refuse to change for me but I wish to have my home button fix. The M1 shop customer service checked and commented my cracked screen and they are not able to replace one-to-one for me , which was ok , but he was giving me a false hope because he gave me the Apple customer service telephone , asking me to try my luck with Apple service center , according to him ,  if i try to call apple and ask the  apple customer service operator to request an one-one replacement, if granted, I’ll be given a code , which i can go back to M1 with the code and get replacement.

So I tried my luck , called service center, the apple service center operator advised me , in order to get replacement I need to go down to the Apple approved service center to get the home button repaired or fixed which located at Tagore Lane . She advised me to pay for the apple care which is $90 , so that the warranty is covered . She was giving me false hope which may get a replacement set , so I have no choice and paid the $90 apple care using my credit card. (Please note that the customer service is giving me hope that if I paid for the applecare $90, my chances of getting a replacement phone or home button fix is higher) and she told me that service center is able to repair my home button. (**I’m hoping to fix my home button but not my cracked screen)

When i gave my address to the cab driver , telling him I wish to go apple care service center , he told me to check again because it’s an industrial area  , maybe I got cheated because that place is quite isolated . He never heard of any Apple Care center there , he told me there is one in Ang Mo Kio . I called and double confirmed the place  , where this has awaken me from my sweet dream .

When i stepped out from the cab, it’s an industry area which described by the cab driver, i got into the building and went to the office, I saw many people holding their apple iphone , sitting in the ugliest sofa and some sitting on wooden stool , the “receiptionist” saw me coming in gestured me to get a number in front of her , the number is a cardboard written by hand using marker , the card is a shape of apple , palm sized . I got one and sit down on a wooden stool . I was horrified with environment there , it’s worst than a chinese medicine hall , because even chinese medicine hall provided back support plastic chair , but here we are seated on a STOOL , made of wood .

Then only i realised that the receiptionist is the only person who called the given number ,  inspect the phone ,  data entry details and issue a replacement set .

There is a signboard informing us that the time taken per person is estimated 15 – 20 minutes . I should have taken a photo of this office , but I was anxious as there was 9 person came before me , which means I need to wait at least 2 hours before my turn . I wanted to give up and leave the place  but I’ve spend $18 dollars on taxi fare to get here. So I sat and waited .

The reception area is quite cramped with more than 10 people , some don’t even get any seats . There isn’t any signs of toilets, those people need to ask the receiptionist then only know where the toilets are located .

So I sat there and wait , everyone were patient , I know who’s name and who’s phone got what problem because you stand in front of the receiptionist and tell her what’s wrong with your phone and tell her your name and everybody staring at you .

Luckily , when it’s my turn, which is 1 hour later, I told her about my home button problem and she saw my crack and I said I’m ok if she only repaired my home button only but she told me there isn’t any repair service in Singapore , so in order to get the home button repaired, I need to pay for $370 for the cracked screen, otherwise no way there is a replacement for me . Either paid for $370 or you leave . She has been hardened , there isn’t any sympathy cell inside of her . There isn’t any hint of Apple Customer Service spirits with her . So I leave the place because I know I won’t pay for $370 for the cracked screen. Tried to get a cab is quite impossible and spent another $18 to get back to ffice , wasted $30++++ for nothing. What a disappointment.

I mean Apple Center supposed to be professional , with that kind of attitude, I really doubt I’ll return to that place if in future I have a broken iphone  .

So I sold my iphone 4 16gb in a marketplace forum for SGD780 , with the SGD780 cash , in same marketplace forum I bought iphone 4 32GB and  I paid for $980 .  If I were dumb enough to pay SGD370 for the cracked screen, I got a refurbished set , stuck with 16GB , but now I’ve saved $100 and additional 16gb more . Lucky me.

So in future if my iphone is broken, I’ll sell in forums and buy another one , never never go to beg for the refurbish phone in Tagore lane there ! Waste your cab fare and time only ! and you only got a refurbish…

Oh yeah, regarding the apple care $90 which I’ve paid , I called the Apple Customer Service and demanded a refund because I cannot get a phone replacement  and told them I’m very disappointed with Apple service in Singapore. They refunded my $90 immediately . The customer service was sympathetic and he told me if I were in States, the replacement can be done , but he cannot do the same for me because I’m in Singapore where he did not have authority to do so.  So Apple, do you think we were lesser people than you people in States ?

I went to the new apple care centre which was by A.Lab in singapura plaza. The customer service is much better and more professional. Most of them are Filipinos though, but they seems like capable of repair the apple product on the spot just like the paid service at iphonefix at waterloo street. The seatings are comfortable but the waiting time still long.

I have recommended my friends and relatives to visit iphone fix when their warranty expire, this is because their service is excellent, they will open up your iphone or ipad on the spot and check the parts, amd quote on the spot. Of course if you wosh to change batteries, you need to call them first for stock availability. For other parts, u can asked them to check and quote. If you decided not to replace, they will put back the device and return to you with no charge. 

35 thoughts on “Apple Service Center in Singapore”

  1. I was really flabbergasted after reading your mail.My I-phone 4 just went dead completely yesterday no matter what I do it refuses to start.I was just surfing to find a service centre
    and here I came upon your note .Now I am stuck,I stay in the East coast.I bought my hand
    phone in February this year and have a star-hub connection.Already it gets jammed so many
    times and now it has completely gone.I really don’t know what to do now?

    1. Hi! Roochie,

      How was your iphone now? i face the same problem now, my iphone refuses to start. I really don’t know what to do?

  2. Hi Roochie,

    This means, your iphone still under warranty. You should get your replacement (refurbish) without any difficulties from the Apple Service centre . You can try your luck at the Starhub center first before dropping by to the pathetic Apple service @ Tagore . Please bear in mind , the transport like buses are rare, you take cab better. Waiting time is about 1.5 hours.

    QCD@Tagore
    No. 6 Tagore Drive, #04-04, Tagore Building
    Singapore 787623

    +65 6555 0478
    +65 6451 4420
    support_apple@qcd.com.sg

    (Mon – Fri) 9.00am – 5.30pm
    Closed on Sat, Sun and Public Holidays

  3. Hi Karelyn!
    I too am trying to get a applecare refund and was wondering how u went about getting your refund back.

  4. hi ,

    You can call applecare Singapore 800-186-1087 or (65) 6835-1812 . If you have not yet registered your applecare, you may able to get a full refund. But if you already registered your applecare with your apple product, which means the time started ticking, you can only get a partial refund. Try call apple care to find out more. For my own case, i just bought the applecare within a day, therefore the sales person able to cancel my order without charging to my credit card.

    1. hello bashar here. i live in singapore. i have a problem. my brother stay in london. he give me i phone 4. i cant use it. because its country lock. have a any solution.?

  5. Hi,
    Few days back my iPad started giving a message “No SIM detected” message. The SIM was working fine till then. I replaced the SIM from Starhub and after a day the same message came back. There was something seriously wrong with the hardware as it was damaging the SIM inside.

    I took the iPAD to Sapura at Funan Level 5, they kept the iPad for 2 days or so.

    They then sent an email asking me to collect the iPad replacement piece which I did.

    After getting the second replacement SIM from Starhub and installing it, no issues noticed till now on the refurbished iPad given to me.

    But overall experience at these stores are not pleasant. They are very busy to deal with customers and allocate no more than 5 minutes.

    If you call Apple the rep tries to convince you several times to buy the Applecare Protection plan for $118 (SGD).

    So even for a brand like Apple, its all sales just as it is for any other brand.

    Regards,
    Sanjay

  6. If you can’t get your luck here in the Singapore, if you have a friend in States, it’s best to post the faulty equipment to States and work from there.

    Who knows , maybe they will give you a replacement as in states, they are more lenient.

  7. Hi karelynyep,

    Just wonder how you sell your faulty iPhone on forum?
    I got my iPhone broken down last week, and was confirmed by the apple store sell man that it was the LED problem. Can you advise me, where should I go for repair my iPhone?

  8. sell it cheap. or try the sim lim square. My father in law repaired his home button , only for $50 plus repair his cracked sim card which unable to detect the sim card.

    Seems like most handphone shop know how to repair iphone nowadays . Apple care did not repair , they just do one-to-one exchange with a refurbish set. Yours warranty expired ?

    Becareful some of the dishonest shops , make sure yours is repaired on the spot, and do not leave your iphone with the man you do not trust, we won’t know what parts was exchanged. So google for honest and good repair handphone shop.

    Try http://www.iphonerepairsg.com/ , they are quite reputable. You may sms him to check out how much before you drop by their shop. o Call or SMS Jeffrey at 9245 6545 between 10am-11pm today!

    Good luck. Or you can try sell it $100 cheaper than what they are selling in the forums.

  9. Im pretty sure you got the wrong advice. There is an M1 Service Centre at 313 Somerset. I had a problem with my phone, and they replaced it one-for-one.

    1. Mine is cracked screen , which is a physical thing. I went to M1 Service Centre at Singapura Plaza . Is your iphone has broken screen as well , which you have one-for-one exchange ? If yes, well , lucky you !

  10. Pingback: Harry
  11. Apple care in sg indeed has poor cust service, and they dont do repair only 1 to 1 exchange for $350. Iphone 4(warranty expired). When ask for detail they only pass or fail. Over the phone apple customer service is much better.
    Error on my phone is unable to restore hiving error 21. Hp refused to start too.

  12. May I get Apple Customer Service Telephone number in Singapore? Actually my brother bought Ipad 2 for me since last 1 n half years ago. when I m using with headphone n just take it out there is no right channel already. First time i thought it was my fault but now i read from alot of blogs, it was products error. so i wanted to check with them whether they can repair free of charge for me or not? I feel like Iphone n Ipad is a bit troublesome coz one computer cannot use for ipad n iphone together. It’s a bit funny. Under same company n same program but they cant use it together. N I realized that iphones in itunes apperances are different. some they have this tab but some dont have. I dont know why? I bought iphone bcoz my brother force me to buy but next time i think i wont buy iphone n apple products any more.

  13. Oh… I forgot to feed back one main thing from Apple Repair Service in Somerset. I bought iphone n when I reached home the charger is not working but when u hold with my hand its work. I didn’t used it yet. On my off day I went down there (under or near singtel building, can’t remember) and tell the staff that what happen to my new charger. He test it and he said it’s ok. But u all know right? sometimes the electric things are like that sometimes it will not shown the problem but sometimes it will right? so i told him but it really not working at my home, n i need to hold with my hand. n i asked him to change with new for me. U know the staff is very good in service HE DONT WANT TO CHANGE FOR ME. when i told him that i dont want to come down for second time bcoz of this. then he asked supervisor n supervisor asked him to change for me. second best service agin, he gave me without testing, so i told him to test it for me, u know VERY GOOD SERVIE. HE SAID U ASKED ME TO CHANGE A NEW PIECE FOR U SO I TOOK THE NEW PIECE NOW U WANT ME TO TEST AGIAN MISS……. REALLY VERY BAD EXPERIENCE FOR ME. So I shout to him ok let it be but u need to pray for u if i come down here bcoz of this sure i will make a very big complain for u. n he show me very bad behaviour also. like i dont care or what. For singaporean in service line, if they dont get commession they are very rude like their parents never teach them how to polite.

  14. Heard from my friend , if you jb your iPhone. , they still change or repair for you under warranty , but the will reset to factory default . You will lose your data so better backup before u heading to service centre.

    1. I bought iPhone 4 at singtel comex in sept2011. Singtel says they settle the 1-year warranty for me. Nowadays my iPhone hangs alot, screen freeze & all. Is there a Singtel-Apple service centre I can go? Hopefully not the Tagore lane one.
      Another qn, how do I do backup of contact list & SMS? Thks!!

  15. Lay 2 , u can syn few products using the same . Just manual select the albums and photo folders for each of ur device . I have done so every day for I have 2 iPads and 2 iPhones .

  16. Thank you a bunch for sharing this with all folks you actually recognise what you’re speaking approximately! Bookmarked. Kindly also visit my site =). We can have a link alternate contract among us

  17. Passerby, you can download the Phonecopy app and backup to phonecopy. If you have older model , antics like those nokia phones , you also can use phonecopy to backup all your contacts there. I really pity those who need to re-enter their contacts whenever they change phone. There is a simpler way.. using phonecopy. You can register them just google for phonecopy, register .
    I’ve done several of them for my older friends whose phone is those antic types.. Cannot imagine they need to enter them one by one.

    the phonecopy is free. =)

    or you can simply register a free apple id and syn with icloud if your iphone version is ios 5.1 or later.
    For backing up SMS , it best you use itune to backup them because it’s the fastest way to do it. Otherwise you can use iphonebackup or diskaid to backup them but it’s difficult to restore them back to your iphone . Itune is the way . Once you have backup , you can use iphonebackupextractor tool to take out your sms, contacts, your call history but it’s impossible to put back unless you understand their sqlite db concept.

    How I sell my broken phone in the forums ? Be honest and spell out what are the faults . Guys from the forums are mostly smart guys , your phone sells faster if you post the picture and show them what’s wrong with it. You can’t really cheat because once your reputation has gone bad, you can never ever able to sell your things in the forums, they are smart enough to know your identity and the histories of your sales , eventhough you have changed your profile or your mobile phone. So never cheat in the forums is my 2 piece advice.

  18. Where are the forums , well, for me I usually browse through few of them
    http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg
    http://forums.vr-zone.com
    http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums

    Here is the tips on how to buy goods … type in google wts Nexus 7 … voila.. all hardwarezone, vrzone.. all appear in the google search. So easy.
    So usually , if you want to sell , remember to put wts <your product) . So when ppl google using google search, usually it will appear there. So it's better to sell them in those frequently visited forums . It's really fun selling and buying great things there. And you get to know those skillful people , like I get to know a guy Eng who repairs laptop as a hobby , a guy who repair nintendo console and psp , etc..

    Best way to save money is , don't buy brand new unless you desperate .. like those smart covers selling in shops $50-60.. you can get 2nd hand in forums for $30.. it still brand new you know , but you saved $20 . . . .

    Or if you like to buy bluetooth stereo, I don't know why buying in Singapore is so expensive, it's like $160 for a plantronics backbeat 903+ . I got one from amazon , only selling for USD$45 , plus USD20 for shipping , i only paid $135 and saved $24 … I tried selling one on the forums for a second hand set for SGD80 . You know the guy asked me whether it's an original one or fake one , it's because it's too cheap , the guy afraid he might bought a fake one.. but I got it from amazon with receipts and stuff.. I ended up returning it to amazon for a full refund, but lose $28 for shipping to and back la. But if I sold it as SGD80 , I will lose $55 man… I'd better return to amazon and lose lesser… (provided I return it within the return period, of course) you cannot return a good which has been used for 1 year right.

  19. obviously like your website however you need to take a look at the spelling on quite a few of your posts. Several of them are rife with spelling problems and I in finding it very troublesome to inform the reality however I’ll surely come back again.

  20. Thanks for the comment on my broken English . I never check my grammar and spelling a
    s I post . Usually I post when I have sometime for it. Recently I had 2 bad experience in buying 2nd hand items . I bought one 3GS iPhone and one laptop 2510p.
    Both guy who sold are not very honest . It should have few days warranty but they never honor it.

    The iPhone vibrate switch was problematic , when I press slight pressure on certain angle it vibrates. Called the guy he lied it is working not such problem and wouldn’t reply further . So rude.

    The second item laptop , it was functional when he showed me. But the hard disk crashed and would not boot after I got home . Furthermore there is a bios password lock on the boot up . I SMS him to get the password he didi not reply immediately but few hrs later
    Lying saying no bios password set before. I demand a refund because
    I just bought a day ago. He did not reply eversince . I spent 250 on the laptop. I replaced the hard disk . My bad luck .

  21. Wow I didn’t know there is an apple service centre in such an area. I’m going to keep this in mind that such things can happen.

    I went to replace my iPhone 4 at the singtel centre at somerset in 2012 and got 1 for 1 replacement. No fuss.

    The applecare extends your warranty to 2 years and covers scratches and battery faults (if I’m not wrong. Details can be checked on the apple website about it). I’m not sure if it can be transferred. May be the extended warranty can be transferred to another device before the expiry.

    I also went to eServ at Wheelock to get my iPad fixed in 2011. No fuss either. Btw I believe the official apple service centre can be found at epicentre at wheelock or 313 somerset ☺ Also certain brands do not offer repairs as they do not have spare parts here hence they only offer 1 for 1 exchange during times of faults ^_~ I hope everything is fine now 😀

  22. Hello! This is my first comment here so I just wanted
    to give a quick shout out and say I really enjoy reading your articles.
    Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that cover the same topics?
    Thanks for your time!

    1. for singapore sites, i recommend hardwarezone and vrzone because they really have many people there sharing their knowledge and their comments sometimes are really hilarious. Lots of interesting topics there. You can start reading those forums that shared their bad experience with bad sellers, shops who cheats etc. Have a nice day.

Leave a comment